In Response See Respond

INSTANT: An instant card has the "instant" keyword in its type line. Any type of card can have the instant keyword. You can play an instant card in response to a card or effect on the chain, even during your opponent's turn.

INTERRUPT: A card or effect on the chain can be interrupted. An interrupted card or effect is removed from the chain and does nothing. If a card is interrupted, it is put into its owner's graveyard. Counterspell is an example of a card that interrupts.

LEAVE PLAY: A card leaves play when it moves from the play zone to any other zone. A card leaves play when it's destroyed, removed from the game, returned to its owner's hand, or put into the graveyard.

LEGAL TARGET: A legal target is any card that can be targeted and meets the description of what a card or effect can target. For example, if a card says "target hero or ally," any hero or ally is a legal target, but if a card says "target ally," only an ally is a legal target.

LONG-RANGE: Long-range is a keyword that heroes and allies can have. If a hero or ally with long-range attacks, it doesn't take combat damage from the defender.

MAxIMUM HAND SIzE: The maximum number of cards you can have in your hand when your turn is over. At the start of the wrap-up step, if you have more cards in your hand than your maximum hand size, you must discard until you have only that many cards. The starting maximum hand size is seven cards, but it can be changed by cards that you play.

MULLIGAN: At the start of each game and only once per game, you can decide to mulligan your starting hand of cards by shuffling those cards into your deck and then drawing a new hand of seven cards.

NEUTRAL: A neutral card is neither Horde nor Alliance, so it can go into a deck of either type.

ONGOING: Ongoing is a keyword that some abilities have. As an ongoing ability resolves, instead of putting it into your graveyard, you put it into play in your hero row or attached to another card.

OPPOSING: Cards in play that your opponents control are referred to as "opposing."

OUT OF THE GAME: You're out of the game if your hero takes fatal damage, or if you need to draw a card and you have no cards left in your deck.

OWNER: You are the owner of your hero and any card that started the game in your deck. If a card would be put into a hand or graveyard, it is put into its owner's hand or graveyard.

PARTY: Your party is made up of your hero and the allies in your ally row. Your party is not limited to five characters.

PAY: Cards and effects have costs that you must pay to play them. You can't pay only part of a cost, and you can't pay more of something than you have.

PAYMENT POWER: Some cards have payment powers. A payment power is identifiable by the arrow symbol in its text (^). The text before the is the cost that you must pay to use the power, and the text after the —► tells you what happens when it resolves.

PLACE: Once on each of your turns, you may place a resource. To place a resource, choose a card from your hand and put it into your resource row. Quests can be placed face up in the resource row; other cards can only be placed face down.

PLAY: When you play a card, you put it on the chain, choose any targets it describes, and pay its costs.

PLAY COST: The number in the upper left corner of each card is its play cost, which tells you the number of resources you must exhaust to play the card.

POWER: When a card has text in its text box that has an impact on the game, that text is a power.

PREVENT: Some cards and effects can prevent damage that would be dealt to a hero or ally. Damage that is prevented is treated as though it were never dealt.

PROPOSE: To propose a combat, choose a ready hero or ally you control to attack with and an opposing hero or ally to defend.

PROTECT: Some heroes and allies can protect other members of their party. To protect, the hero or ally exhausts and becomes the defender in place of the proposed defender in a combat.

PROTECTOR: Protector is a keyword that some heroes and allies have. If a hero or ally is a protector, it can be exhausted to step in front of an attack that's been proposed against another character in its party. If it does, the protector becomes the defender for that combat. An ally can protect even on the same turn that it joins your party.

READY: A card in play is ready when it isn't exhausted (which means it hasn't been turned sideways). All cards enter play ready. Only ready cards can be exhausted to attack or pay costs. When you ready a card, you change it from the exhausted position to the ready (upright) position.

REMOVE FROM COMBAT: If an attacker or defender is removed from combat, it is no longer considered an attacker or defender. The combat will conclude as normal, but no combat damage will be dealt. If the defender is removed from combat, the attacker remains exhausted. If a hero or ally exhausts to protect and then the attacker is removed from combat, the hero or ally that protected remains exhausted.

REMOVE FROM THE GAME: To remove something from the game, take it from whatever zone it's currently in (hand, deck, play, etc.) and move it to the removed from game zone. This is different than putting something into your graveyard. The removed from game zone is normally an area on the table that's clearly separate from the play area. Cards that have been removed from the game are face up unless otherwise noted.

RESOLVE: When there are no responses to the last card or effect on the chain, it resolves and has its impact on the game, which is described by its text. An ability goes to its owner's graveyard after it resolves, unless it's an ongoing ability. An ongoing ability, ally, weapon, armor, or item that resolves will enter play in the play zone.

RESOURCE: You exhaust resources to pay the costs to play items, weapons, armor, allies, and abilities; use payment powers; and strike with weapons. You get to put one resource into play on each of your turns. Any type of card can be placed face down as a resource, but only quests can be placed face up.

RESOURCE COST: Resource costs on a card or power are represented by a number r within the resource cost symbol. To pay a resource cost, you exhaust that number of resources. For example, a card that you must exhaust two resources to play will have a 2 in its upper left corner, and a power that you must exhaust two resources to use will have a © as part of its cost.

RESPOND: When a card or effect is on the chain, players can respond to it with cards or effects of their own. If a player responds, that response will have an impact on the game before the original card or effect. If a player says that he or she is doing something "in response," that player is acting before the most recent card or effect on the chain resolves.

REVEAL: If something tells you to reveal a card, you must turn that card face up so that all players can see it. Revealing a card doesn't move it out of the zone that it's in. Once a card is revealed, you put it back into its previous (hidden) position.

SEARCH: If something tells you to search your deck for a certain kind of card, you look through your deck for a card of that kind and then shuffle your deck afterward.

SIDE DECK: A side deck consists of additional cards outside a player's main deck. Players can swap cards between their side and main decks between games in a match. In Constructed play, a side deck is exactly ten cards. In Sealed Pack or Draft, a player's side deck is all cards that player received that didn't make his or her main deck.

STEALTH: Stealth is a keyword that a Rogue hero can have. If a hero is stealthed, other heroes and allies can't protect against its attacks. In future sets, Druids will be able to shift into cat form and use stealth.

STRIKE: While a hero is in combat, its controller may strike with a ready weapon by paying its strike cost and exhausting it. This adds the weapon's ATK to the ATK of the hero for the rest of the combat.

STRIKE COST: The strike cost of a weapon is the number in its lower right corner.

TAG: On a card's type line, along with Its type, some cards have one or more tag words, like "Pet" or "Axe," that may be referenced by other cards. Some cards have a tag on their type line followed by a number in parentheses. That number is how many cards with that tag you can control at the same time.

TALENT: Each hero has a talent specialization along with its faction and class. "Talent" is also a tag that some abilities have. If an ability with a talent spec tag has "Fire Hero Required" (for example) In its text, that means only a hero with the Fire talent specialization can have that card in its deck.

TARGET: If a card or effect tells you to target something, you must choose the target as you play the card or effect. If there is no legal target, you can't play that card or effect. Once you choose a target, you can't change your mind, even if something happens to the target you picked. If a card or effect resolves and none of its targets is legal, it is interrupted. If at least one target is legal, it is not interrupted.

TOTEM: Totems are ongoing abilities that have the word "Totem" in their type line. Totems can be attacked in combat or targeted by anything that would normally target an ally. However, they are not actually allies, and they can't gain ATK or health.

TRAIT ICON: Your hero and many other cards have trait icons on them. If a card has a trait icon, you can include it in your deck only if it shares at least one trait icon with your hero. If a card has a trait icon next to a power in its text box, the card has that power only if your hero has that trait icon.

l-TiTbndrimdHipfKtirfcihruiei^ive i

Different abilities based on the faction of your hero.

Indicates a Horde only quest.

TURN PLAYER: The turn player is the player whose turn it is.

UNIQUE: Some cards have the word "unique" in their type line. Any time you control more than one unique card with the same name, you must immediately put all but one of them into their owners' graveyards. You choose which one to keep.

UNLIMITED: Some cards (mostly allies) have the word "unlimited" in their type line. You can put any number of an unlimited card into your deck. For example, you can have 60 copies of Orgrimmar Grunts in your deck instead of the normal maximum of 4.

x: Sometimes, a cost will include an "X" amount. When you exhaust resources to pay that cost, you can exhaust any number. "X" is then equal to the number of resources you exhausted this way.

UPPER DECK

ENTERTAINMENT

UPPER DECK

ENTERTAINMENT

Upper Deck (^nlerlai nrae nl T Op (jpedils

World of Warcraft TCG Engine Design: Mike Hummel, Brian Kibler, Danny Mandel

Additional Engine Design: Eric Bess, Ben Brode, Shawn Carnes, Ben Cichoski, Jeff Donais, Dave Hewitt, Ken Ho, Cory Jones, Paul Ross, Kate Sullivan, Morgan Whitmont

Heroes of Azeroth Design Lead: Danny Mandel

Heroes of Azeroth Development Lead: Brian Kibler

Heroes of Azeroth Design and Development Team: Eric Bess, Ben Cichoski, Mike Hummel, Ken Ho, Morgan Whitmont

Additional Design and Development (UDE): David Baumgartner, Morgan Bonar, Javier Casillas, Antonino DeRosa, Sean Dillon, Jeff Donais, Scott Elliott, William Estela, Justin Gary, Dave Hewitt, Dave Humpherys, Matt Hyra, Cory Hudson Jones, Adam Key, Anand Khare, Brandon Male, Cate Muscat, Russ Pippin, Justin Reilly, Paul Ross, Ben Rubin, Ben Seck, David Smith, Dan Scheidegger, Eric Schumann, Jess Stinnett, Kate Sullivan, Patrick Sullivan, Patrick Swift, Andrew Yip

Brand Management: Dave Hewitt (lead), Eric Schumann

Graphic Design: Brian Bateman (lead), Michele Mejia, Scott Reyes

Flavor Text: Brandon Male (lead), Michelle Aten, Jake Bales, Jeff Donais, Jeff Grubb, Mike Hummel, Brian Kibler, Regan Norris, Marc Schmalz, Geordie Tait, Eric Tice, Drew Walker

Editing: Cate Muscat (lead), Darla Kennerud

Rulebook: Paul Ross, Kate Sullivan, Cate Muscat

Art Direction: Mark Irwin, Jeremy Cranford

Production: Louise Bateman, Rudy Diaz, Mike Eggleston, Kim Forral, Angel Sanchez, Anita Spangler, Gordon Tucker, Wendy Wagner, Armando Villalobos

Project Management: Sean Dillon

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment